Follow the money: Silicon Valley’s 2024 primary election
A voter delivers his ballot on a rainy Election Day on Nov. 8, 2022. File photo.

Silicon Valley voters are making consequential decisions about who should represent them up and down the ballot — from San Jose City Hall to Washington, D.C.

The highly-anticipated race to replace retiring Silicon Valley Rep. Anna Eshoo is among the most watched locally and nationally. A slew of big-name candidates are lining up for the once-in-a-generation shot at going to Congress.

Former San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo, Santa Clara County District 5 Supervisor Joe Simitian, Assemblymember Evan Low and Palo Alto Councilmember Julie Lythcott-Haims are among the frontrunners. The crowded race also includes attorney and tech policy expert Ahmed Mostafa, Palo Alto Councilmember Greg Tanaka, climate investor Joby Bernstein, Santa Clara County Republican Party Central Committee member Karl Ryan, marine veteran and tech executive Peter Dixon, former Menlo Park Mayor Peter Ohtaki and former Saratoga Councilmember Rishi Kumar.

The race for California’s 16th congressional district is breaking the bank, boasting millions of dollars and already launching a frenzy of TV ads. The district covers parts of San Mateo and Santa Clara counties including Los Altos, Campbell, Los Gatos, Mountain View and parts of San Jose and unincorporated communities.

Closer to home, voters will narrow down candidates vying for two seats on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors and half of the San Jose City Council is also up for election, including Mayor Matt Mahan.

Some candidates have not yet filed their campaign finance forms up to Dec. 31, marked with a dash instead of a number. This article will be updated as forms are filed.

San José Spotlight is following the money this election season and will update these trackers regularly.

Last updated: March 5

Jump to:

Congressional District 16

State Assembly District 26

Assembly District 26 covers Santa Clara and parts of San Jose, Sunnyvale, and Cupertino.

The candidates hoping to fill Assemblymember Evan Low’s seat in Sacramento are:

  • Sunnyvale City Councilmember Omar Din
  • Foothill-De Anza Community College District Board President Patrick Ahrens,
  • Santa Clara County Board of Education Member Tara Sreekrishnan
  • Public accountant Sophie Yan Song
  • Retired pilot Bob Goodwyn
  • Fremont Union High School Foundation Board Member Ashish Garg

Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors District 2

The county’s District 2 covers downtown San Jose and East San Jose.

The candidates hoping to fill Cindy Chavez’s seat are:

Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors District 5

The county’s District 5 covers Los Altos, Mountain View, Cupertino, Saratoga and parts of southwest San Jose.

The candidates hoping to fill Joe Simitian’s seat are:

  • Margaret Abe-Koga, Mountain View councilmember
  • Sally Lieber, California State Board of Equalization member
  • Peter Fung, neurologist and El Camino Health District director
  • Barry Chang, former Cupertino councilmember
  • Sandy Sans, business owner

San Jose City Council District 2

The city council’s District 2 covers parts of south San Jose down Highway 101, including part of the Santa Teresa Neighborhood.

Candidates hoping to fill Councilmember Sergio Jimenez’s seat are:

San Jose City Council District 4

The city’s District 4 covers the northern parts of San Jose, including Berryessa and Alviso.

Incumbent David Cohen is running for a second term against former state Assemblymember Kansen Chu.

San Jose City Council District 6

The city’s District 6 covers Willow Glen, Santana Row, The Alameda and parts of downtown.

Candidates hoping to fill Councilmember Dev Davis’ seat are:

San Jose City Council District 8

The city’s District 8 covers south east San Jose, including Evergreen, Silver Creek and Lake Cunningham.

Incumbent Domingo Candelas is running for a second term against:

San Jose City Council District 10

The city’s District 10 covers parts of south San Jose, including the Santa Teresa and Almaden neighborhoods.

Incumbent Arjun Batra is running for a second term against:

  • George Casey, San Jose planning commissioner
  • Lenka Wright, Mountain View communications director and former broadcast journalist

Contact B. Sakura Cannestra at [email protected] or @SakuCannestra on X, formerly known as Twitter.

Comment Policy (updated 5/10/2023): Readers are required to log in through a social media or email platform to confirm authenticity. We reserve the right to delete comments or ban users who engage in personal attacks, hate speech, excess profanity or make verifiably false statements. Comments are moderated and approved by admin.

Leave a Reply